International Commission on Clouds and Precipitation
Bylaws of the International Commission on Clouds and Precipitation
6. Membership of the ICCP Executive Committee

Membership in the Commission is achieved by a vote of the Executive Committee and Officers during the General Assembly of the Commission. Members of the Executive Committee are elected for a period of 4 years and can be re-elected once for a period of 4 additional years. New members assume their duties after their formal acceptance subsequent to the General Assembly in which they were elected.

The Executive Committee is comprised of 25 Members, or less, excluding the Officers. An increase in the number of Members for the next term can occur by a majority vote of the Members and Officers.

The Commission strives to ensure that its membership is comprised of active researchers with strong international reputations and expertise spanning the field of cloud physics and precipitation science, including representation of diverse observational and theoretical specialties. Appropriate geographical and gender balance is also desired. These factors are taken into consideration when nominating and electing Members.

In case of the resignation of a Member, the position will remain vacant until the next General Assembly and new elections.

Back to Bylaws Table of Contents  |  Next Page >>
Copyright 2009 © International Commission of Clouds and Precipitation, All Rights Reserved